Turkey Time!

21 Nov

As all of my good American readers know, tomorrow is Thanksgiving (our wacky “neighbours,” the Canadians, celebrated last month).  As I previously mentioned, I do like Thanksgiving, just not its lack of presents for me.  But I’m selfish like that.

I started to think about what I do like about Thanksgiving, and how it has changed for me over the years.  When I was little, it meant getting all dressed up and making the LONG 20 minute trip to my grandparents for dinner (and probably wondering why there were no presents).  And making a turkey by tracing my hand on brown construction paper.

When I was in high school, Thanksgiving meant getting up early and standing in the freezing cold to watch our high school football game.  It felt so weird to leave the house on a holiday without my family! 

In college, Thanksgiving often meant the first time in months I was home, and the first time I saw my friends.  We celebrated by going to the “Poor Man’s Party,” where we drank cans of beer and danced at the local Elks Club. 

Now, Thanksgiving means a road race (the Gobble, Gobble, Gobble) and spending time with a family that’s not really “mine.”  We tend to spend Thanksgiving with J’s family, which is kind of weird.  Maybe not so much weird, but different.  They don’t eat Antipasto and Soup before dinner like we do.  They eat Cranberry Sauce, like we don’t.  And they don’t go through nearly as much wine as we do.  Luckily, they’re nice people, and while the food isn’t my mom’s, its still good.

And then, we can come home, and start thinking about Christmas!  And presents!

 Just so you don’t think I’m totally selfish, here’s my list of things I am thankful for this year:

  • The fact that I and my family are healthy
  • I have a husband who loves me, a good job, a roof over my head, and a car that runs
  • That the Do Not Mail list has not put me out of a job
  • I’m going to San Diego!
  • I have wonderful friends
  • The Sox won the Series (again!)
  • Macaroni & Cheese

Happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

