I am a cotton-headed ninny muggins

24 Nov

Now that Thanksgiving is over (and I got no leftovers, by the way, making pumpkin pie for breakfast impossible.  Not happy) its time for the holiday season to begin.  I know, the songs have been playing for weeks, the stores are full of wrapping paper, and there are already Christmas movies on TV.  But now is really the time to enjoy all that the world has to offer for the holidays.  Numero Uno on my list: the food.

The reason I am a cotton headed ninny muggins is because I am a marketer’s dream come true.  Townhouse crackers?  Bo-ring.  Townhouse crackers with Christmas trees on them?  Must have item.  Yes, I know they’re the same thing, but the newer holiday ones are pretty!  (Aside from that annoying picture of Rachel Ray on the front of the box, that is.)  I had to physically restrain myself from buying the six different kinds of Hershey Kisses that are out now.

My new favorite section of Target is the Christmas section, most specifically the food aisle.  All the pretty gimmicky food gifts no one really wants to get, but are perfect for those you don’t know what to get for.  Three different kinds of cocoa with a holiday mug and tree shaped marshmallows — what boss wouldn’t want that?  And how about that processed cheez log, complete with crackers and a holiday spreader — perfect for great aunt Ethel! 

Then there’s all the food you can’t get during the rest of the year, like Egg Nog.  I love Egg Nog with a passion.  My Papa used to buy it straight from the dairy.  It was so thick you practically needed a spoon to drink it.  There’s no better way to top off a holiday dinner with a weeks worth of calories than with another days worth of calories in one small glass!

And the cookies!  How could you not want to bake at a time like this?  The chocolate chips and bags of sugar are at the end of every aisle of the supermarket, just waiting to jump in your cart.  Because you need a dozen bags of chocolate chips if they’re that cheap.  Don’t forget the Ziplock bags with the snowflakes on them for storage! 

Happy Eating!  I’ll be chowing down on my spaghetti with maple syrup and focusing on the four food groups (candy, candy corn, candy canes and maple syrup) while buying every stupid gimmicky item I see on TV.  Basically, being a cotton-headed ninny muggins. 

 pic2.jpg

3 Responses to “I am a cotton-headed ninny muggins”

  1. Mare November 25, 2007 at 8:33 am #

    I am right with you on the packaged cups + beverages looking very tempting.

    I draw the line at the soup ones though.

  2. Sing2phins/Melanie November 27, 2007 at 11:51 am #

    Do you know that I was just coming over here to ask you, ever so nicely, if you might find a spot in your blog roll for little old me? Imagine my delight to discover that I’m already included! I feel loved!

    On another note, I am seriously considering switching to WP from Blogger. Was it easy and painless?

    Thanks!

  3. Julie November 27, 2007 at 1:53 pm #

    Yeah, I’m not a big fan of the soups. Or the cookies in a jar things.

    Melanie, I’ve decided that, with my new blog, I’ll be a better blogger. Actually posting & adding people to my blogroll are some of the ways I plan on achieving this goal!

    And it was painless. I’m still figuring out a few things, but so far, so good!

Leave a Reply

