Cookiepalooza 2007

19 Dec

Following in the footsteps of my fellow baking bloggers (DuJane , Becca and Melanie), I bring you my holiday cookie story.

Its been a bad cookie making season in Julieville.  My mom & I had plans to get together for a marathon cookie baking session (Cookiepalooza 2007), but the STORM OF THE CENTURY screwed everything up.  Even before the STORM, I was told that I could not just show up with a bag of chocolate chips, bake, and not clean up.  No way Jose.  I had to buy cookie making supplies (including nuts — the most expensive cookie ingredient.  I spent $20 on nuts alone!), bake some cookies prior to Cookiepalooza, and show up prepared to clean.  At this point I named my mother the Cookie Monster.

So, I set out to make cookies.  First, I ruined three batches (!) of Saltine Toffee Cookies (aka Crack).  These are literally the easiest cookies in the world to make.  Ruined Batch #1 I blame on Ghiardelli.  I tried to make the crack with white chocolate chips and candy cane pieces J painfully pounded into bits with a mallet out of true love.  The white chocolate chips did not melt, but instead turned out looking like burnt marshmallows and crumbled dryly.  Yuck.  I burnt Batch #2, but managed to salvage some.  Batch #3 had failed toffee (don’t ask me how).  I made Batch #4 (the winner!) with a bag and a half of candy cane kisses and a lot of melting prayers.

My other big failure was the Butter Jam Thumbprints.  They tasted good, but looked horrid.  They were flat & crispy instead of puffy & pretty.  I must have left something out.  And I made half of a second batch of Ginger Cookies before I realized I ran out of ginger.  I’m not a good little planner.

In the end, the Cookie Monster & I made 11 different kinds of cookies, plus some spiced nuts.  I then realized that its a close tie between the worst part of cookie baking: cleaning the kitchen or actually packaging the cookies. 

Here are the cookies in their individual baggies, ready to get plated & wrapped.  Please note the adorable snowman scissors as well as the holiday plates and plastic wrap.  I’m a budding Martha Stewart (minus the insider trading, of course):

cookie-1.jpg

Here they are all pretty & packaged:

cookie-after.jpg

My resolution for next year:  Buy lots of cheap cookie tins, instead of those stupid paper plates.  The tins were way easier, and didn’t involve J using his middle finger to hold the ribbon so I could tie it.  Did I mention I was born without a bow tying/ribbon curling gene? Or maybe I’ll just stick with the spiced nuts.   

3 Responses to “Cookiepalooza 2007”

  1. mare December 20, 2007 at 3:26 pm #

    I feel inspired by your baking prowess. Next year you should do some YouTube videos so we can really get a feel for it.

  2. Melanie December 20, 2007 at 11:05 pm #

    “Baking bloggers” – ha. Sounds like a club. We should start one. I think they look beautiful on the plates, Julie.

  3. Julie December 22, 2007 at 7:49 pm #

    Mare, a You Tube video might pick up on the swearing and crying at the ruined batches. Stills save some embarrassment, a fact I learned after watching my wedding DVD .

    Thanks Mel!

Leave a Reply

