Happy 2008

1 Jan

Being the fascinatingly boring people we are, J & I rang in 2008 sitting on the couch and each having a sip of champagne at midnight.  We did go out prior to that, but were home by 9:30pm.  Hey, it had been hours since I played Guitar Hero.  I have priorities, ya-know? 

Since I did the obligatory “Things I’m Thankful For” post, I figured I might as well give you what you really want, which is, of course, my resolutions for 2008:

  1. Lose these last ten stinking pounds.  I know, its everyone’s #1 resolution, so the gym will be packed with newbies trying to figure out what tv channel they want to watch while strolling on the treadmill and talking on their cell phone with their hair down (that’s one of my biggest pet peeves: I don’t believe you can get a good workout if your hair is longer than your chin and completely down.  I just don’t buy it).  And, for what its worth, I told the reporter from the Globe who is doing an article on on-line weight loss and interviewed me (supposed to appear January 2nd, by the way), that I was only 5 pounds above my goal weight.  If any of you rat me out, I’ll hunt you down and be really mad.  Kind of.
  2. Get out of this apartment and into a home of some sort.  Anything where J can have his own room to make a mess and display the stupid sports gear his mom thinks we need.  Not that I don’t love the Patriots rug, I’m just trying to move away from dorm room decor and into grown-up stuff.  Like Ikea.
  3. Master Guitar Hero 3.  That may take more than a year.
  4. Stop thinking.  I think too much about everything.  I need to just do things and not over-analyze everything.  You could also call this resolution: Act more like Britney
  5. Spend less time on the computer, but blog more.  I know its totally contradictory, but there must be a way.
  6. Be more tolerant of those I dislike.  This will not be easy.
  7. Act like a girl.  Pluck my eyebrows, maybe wear my hair in something other than a wet ponytail once in a while.  I don’t think it will kill me to put on a skirt now and again.
  8. Run more races.  Last year I did 10.  I’m aiming for 12 this year.  I’m thinking I can sell the tee shirts on E-Bay to pay for my entry fees. 
  9. Clip coupons.  For two people, we spend an absurd amount of money on food.  I could barely push my cart today.  Eating less is not an option, so I guess I just need to shop wiser.
  10. Try not to have to enter rehab after the 10 30th birthday parties I’ll attend this year.  After the two from 2007, I think this will be my toughest resolution.

Here’s to a happy, healthy and prosperous 2008 for all!

2 Responses to “Happy 2008”

  1. Mare January 2, 2008 at 3:40 pm #

    Those are great goals. Are you going for one race/month?

    If you want some resources on cutting your food bill, I am happy to send some.

  2. Julie January 2, 2008 at 9:54 pm #

    Possibly, Mare, but Jan-March races are tough to come by. I counted 8 I already plan on doing, so I’m sure 4 more will be easy to find!

    I’d love the food bill help! Leaving J at home so he doesn’t sneak cookies into the cart and schreeching “Is that on sale?!?!” when he does come helps a bit.

Leave a Reply

