A Rough Few Days

8 Jan

Are you all sitting for this?

My guitar is broken.  Broken!  After two weeks!  The yellow button doesn’t work.  Well, it works sporadically.  And, no, I’m not just missing the notes.   Really. 

This is so frustrating to me, especially considering the fact I dragged my boss’ son’s guitar out at a retirement party and crushed “One.”  Crushed it after 4 drinks, no less.  I had a 267 note streak.  Then I get home, and boom!  No yellow button. 

We tried to play without it, to hit it harder and coax it into working to no avail.  On Sunday night, J declared “I’m not playing this piece of shit until we get a new one.”  And hightailed it to Toys R Us today.  Praise the Lord!

So I have a brandy new guitar and game waiting for me at home.  J is “sick” and probably mastering Medium as we speak.  All I can do is sit at work and try to strengthen my pinky.

 In honor of Guitar Hero being back, here’s a cartoon my friend “Jessi” posted on my My Space page:

guitar_hero.jpg

6 Responses to “A Rough Few Days”

  1. Becca January 8, 2008 at 10:39 pm #

    I don’t understand. Doesn’t some guy in a black t-shirt and ball cap come out from the side and hand you a new one?

  2. Mare January 9, 2008 at 8:44 am #

    I’m proud of you for buying a new one so promptly. You are worth it.

  3. Julie January 9, 2008 at 10:14 am #

    I was very disappointed when he did not show, Bec.

    Thanks Mare! Unfortunately, J accidentally bought a wired guitar, which my inner rock star simply cannot deal with. So we’ll have attempt #3 tonight.

  4. jessica January 9, 2008 at 7:48 pm #

    yay! i got mentioned in the blog!!!! you rock!!! we should seriously consider bringing this to julies!

  5. fabat40 January 10, 2008 at 7:52 pm #

    Dude! How did you go even ONE day without Guitar Hero?! I’m so happy you got a new guitar — I don’t think work would be bearable if you weren’t able to play at night. Question: Did they make you BUY a new guitar? Or did they replace it? Regardless of how much you play it shouldn’t be worn out already. (See I do read your blog!)

  6. Julie January 11, 2008 at 12:07 pm #

    Definately, Jess!

    Fab, I think the withdrawal is where my cold came from.

    We just returned the defective guitar & game to Toys R Us and they credited the card. Thank goodness. If it burned out that quickly, we’d be buying new ones every week!

Leave a Reply

