Are You Ready for Some Football?

13 Jan

Football is my #2 favorite sport, following baseball, of course.  I have to admit that I don’t get football like I get baseball.  I know how the game is played, I just don’t understand all the rules.  I swear J yells “Pass Interference” after every single yellow flag.  (By the way, I think need one of those flags.  I’m going to throw it at the feet of whoever stands outside my office & stares at me until I get off the phone.)  I still enjoy the game, I just spend a lot of time pretending I know what’s going on and repeating what other people said, like: “Wow, did you see that?  That was clearly holding.”  to which I reply, “Oh yeah, big time holding!”

Of course, I’m a Patriots fan.  I’m a big believer in rooting for the team from where you’re from.  So, like my love/love relationship with the Sox, I was born a Pats fan.  Before Gillette Stadium became the mecca it is today, the Pats pre-season was down the street from my house, at Bryant University.  My grandfather took my brother & I there to get autographs of all the players, which I promptly stuck in my coffee can time capsule and buried in the backyard somewhere. 

Like I said, I’m all about team loyalty, even if your team doesn’t just happen to have an undefeated season, a ticket to the AFC Championship Game next week, a record breaking offense, and a damn fine looking quarterback.  Speaking of, based on hotness and hotness only, TB QB is not #1 on my hot QB list.  Instead, it goes like this:

1. Drew Brees

drewbrees.jpg

2. TB QB (the butt chin lost him a few points)

brady.jpg

3. Philip Rivers

philrivers.jpg

4.  Tony Romo

tony_romo.jpg 

5. Peyton Manning

peyton_bio.jpg

I’m in my glory over the fact that #2 & #3 will be on the same field, just miles from my home, next weekend.  Maybe they’ll get in a cat fight and start ripping off each others clothes.  Do men do things like that?

Wait, I was talking about football.  Loyalty is great, even if your team went 1-15 and you happen to live in New England and are too jealous to even give a little cheer for the Patriots (coughJodicough).  I can respect that.  If the Sox played a piss poor season and I lived in NY, I wouldn’t root for the Yankees.  Ever. 

I’m very excited that the Chargers are playing the Patriots next week, although I would love to be back in that bar in San Diego when the Pats go 18-0.  And I’m excited for the halftime show in the Superbowl.   Maybe we’ll see Tom Petty’s nipple.

To prove I’m a happy, well adjusted fan, I’ll be kind and not automatically delete any “Spygate” or cheater comments that will inevitably appear. 

2 Responses to “Are You Ready for Some Football?”

  1. Mare January 13, 2008 at 7:01 pm #

    Football is great.

    But I am kind of sick of the Pats being so good. I would like the Browns to win more. I heard that Brady wishes he was the QB so I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

  2. jessica January 15, 2008 at 4:41 pm #

    go pats!!!!!!!! i just pretend to know about football too. most of the time, i’m clueless.

Leave a Reply

