Well, Isn’t This Cheery?

20 Jan

I’m finding myself at a loss of things to blog about, so  just Googled “things to blog about.”  The first hit was to this site, accurately titled “Blog Things.”  This site has all sorts of crap you can stick in your Blog, My Space, or Facebook page.  The very first item is this cheery little number:

die.jpg

So, I decided to take the quiz, for shits and giggles (you can also find out your BMI on the same page.  Yay).  Normally, I’m not this morbid, but I felt as though I owed it to all my faithful readers to be as accurate as possible with whatever I post. 

The quiz starts with all sorts of scientific questions, like “How many fruits to you eat each day?”, and continues on to “How often do you drink coffee?”  Because no fruit and too much coffee will knock ten years off your life right away, dontcha know?  I accidentally clicked “Yes” to “Do you have any pets?” and got sent right to the next page.  I went right back to change it.  No Fido here killing me softly!

All of the questions have a little picture next to them.  The one asking for your zip has the “Beverly Hills 90210” logo next to it.  Sweet.  I was honest and answered yes to “Do you have a need for speed?”  I was not honest when they asked for my e-mail and mailing address to continue.  My apologies in advance to boogedyboogedy@booger.com.

I then had to decline about a million offers with a scary skeleton in the corner of the screen.  I did accept an offer for a free trial pair of contacts, just to make it stop, but it didn’t.  I think this process took at least ten years off my life.  Then I yelled “I just want to know when I’ll die!” which thoroughly confused J.

So, this is what I got:

61.25%
So, while you are not a picture of health you are doing alright, congratulations! You will die between the ages of 61-70. This should be enough time to really enjoy life and live it to the fullest. This doesn’t mean you can begin to endulge in fatty foods and forget to exercise, it just means you can continue on your course

Well, that’s not very good, is it?  I thought I’d at least make it to 75 or so.  I guess its off to the gym tomorrow.  I know I can just “continue on my course,” but really, dying at 61 isn’t something I’m looking forward to.  I’m not sure why I’m listening to a webpage that can’t spell “indulge” properly, but if it gets me to the gym, I’ll take it!

4 Responses to “Well, Isn’t This Cheery?”

  1. Mare January 21, 2008 at 8:36 am #

    Yikes. I bet it is because you changed that pet answer.

    Prove that silly quiz wrong!

  2. fabat40 January 21, 2008 at 4:37 pm #

    Are you really going to believe them? Reread their message to you — they can’t even spell INDULGE correctly. I think anyone who can’t spell is full of shit!

  3. jessica January 22, 2008 at 5:24 pm #

    oh dear!!!!!!

  4. Kari January 23, 2008 at 3:29 pm #

    I took the quiz also, but gave up after the 10th page of free offers. I figured the quiz was killing me faster than my actual life.

Leave a Reply

