Foiled Again!

10 Feb

Remember when I told you all about my dismay at Sea World San Diego after being tricked onto thinking poor Missy would be mauled by dolphins?  It happened again!  This time, it didn’t involve mating or drowning of any kind.  (By the way, whoever found me after searching for “sea world dolphin mates woman,” I hope you weren’t too disappointed!) 

Last Sunday, J & I went to see Monty Python’s Spamalot in Providence.  I bought the tickets awhile ago, because J is a huge Monty Python fan.  I didn’t realize the play fell on Superbowl Sunday, but luckily, I was cheap smart enough to get matinee tickets, leaving us plenty of time for sketchy Chinese food before heading to watch the game. 

I should mention that I was also wicked hungover, after attending a 30th birthday party the night before with the bad influences I call my college friends.  The word “no” is apparently not an acceptable answer to the question “Who wants another shot?”  I had to cancel our brunch plans due to the puking, and instead chose to have the thinnest cheeseburger ever at the greasy spoon near our house.

So, we get to PPAC, and I’m sneezing and nauseous, cramped into my seat like a sardine.  J got up to hit the men’s room as I perused the little book they hand out to keep you occupied before the show starts.  I open it to the middle, past all the ads, and find the play info. 

But instead of anything about Spamalot, I found:  “Bin Faaarkrekkion’s new Moosical DIK OD TRIAANENEN FOL (Finns Ain’t What They Used To Be).”  Including musical performances such as “I Hear Your Nokia But I Can’t Come In,” “It’s a Bleeding (Economic) Miracle” and “Foek You, Farmers.”  “Featuring the show-stopping, foot-stomping East Finland Moose Ballet — 45 magnificent creatures in high-stepping harmony.  Believed to be the greatest display of horn ever seen on an American stage.”

When J sat down (without the peanut M&Ms I wanted), I whispered, “I think they gave us the wrong program.  Look at this play!  Its 7-1/2 hours ong!  And the cast includes moose trainers and a guy named Sad Aaarse!  I looked through the rest of the book and I can’t tell when its playing, but who would go see this?!?!”  J looked at my book, flipped the next page to the Spamalot information, and said “Its a joke, babe.  Monty Python has a whole songabout Finland.”  Luckily, I don’t think the guy next to me heard my stupidity, despite the fact I was practically in his lap.  I just shook my head and said, “Its like that damned Missy incident all over again.”

Even though I was fooled again, the play was hilarious and very entertaining.  It even made my hangover almost go away!  (“Always look on the bright side of life!”)

3 Responses to “Foiled Again!”

  1. Jane February 10, 2008 at 9:48 pm #

    I have some oceanfront property to sell you.

  2. Mare February 11, 2008 at 7:25 am #

    At least you didn’t fill in an order form to buy the tickets.

  3. Julie February 12, 2008 at 9:49 am #

    I may have still been drunk — does that make it any less pathetic?

Leave a Reply

