Never Say Goodbye

19 Mar

(You’re very welcome for the cheesy ear-worm!) 

As you know, I’m leaving TAC (tiny ass corporation for you blog newbies).  And, as excited as I am to begin this new stage of my life (with my new Mandy Moore haircut and freshly waxed brows), I am sad to be leaving the company I’ve been with for 5-1/2 years.  I’ve been thinking about what it will be like when I leave, of course, but it really hit me the other day.

We took a trip to visit a vendor in CT.  On the way home, we asked the limo driver to stop at the packie so we could get Powerball tickets.  And beer for the ride home.  Then, of course, we had to stop and pee.  And the token male of the group fetched us more beer, and, more importantly, Doritos (he’s a smart one, that Token Male.)  We went into the office when we returned, to pee again and photocopy the Powerball tickets so there would be no confusion and/or people fleeing with our cash if we won.  Then someone had the brilliant idea that we should switch around all of the nameplates on everyone’s doors.  Immature, yes, but we found it hilarious.  We ran around for ten minutes deciding who would be best as replacements for everyone.  Driving home later, I thought about it and started giggling like a loon for a good 20 minutes.  (In retrospect, that could have had something to do with the wine I had just tasted guzzled).

So I started thinking about these people I had spent 5-1/2 years with.  And I realized they truly are like my family.  In such a small group, its easy to get to know everyone really well (which isn’t always a good thing).  We’ve all been through a lot of happy stuff together, along with some really sad stuff.

The best way to describe our group is “quirky” — but in a good way!  We have cake for everybody’s birthday.  Everyone knows this.  In fact, we secretly try to hire based on birthdays so we can have a cake a month.  Yet, every time there is a birthday, we have to conspicuously gather in the conference room and call the person to a “meeting.”  And the birthday person is required to act surprised and try not to cringe as we wail away thought Happy Birthday.

Most of the group eats lunch together (Token Male hides in his cube due to the abundance of estrogen).  We pop popcorn and argue over if its cooked best at 2:40 or 2:50.  We read horoscopes, cheat on crosswords, and discuss TV shows and life in general.

We don’t go out a lot after work, but we can somehow convince the boss to take us out to lunch for the smallest occasions (like the snow pile melting in the parking lot).  We go on fabulous summer outings that often involve drinking before noon, and sometimes involve boats and invasions of personal space. 

The bottom line is, we work hard and play hard.  The company has been very successful in the years I’ve been there, and I’m sure will continue to grow.  And the main reason for that is the people.

Sure, we don’t always get along, and not everyone loves each other every day of the week.  This is the same group of people that had a two day debate over where to put the paper towels in the bathroom, and almost requires a spreadsheet to pick out pizzas for lunch.  But the bottom line is that its a great group of people, and an excellent group of workers.  I’ve made some very good friends there that I will be very sad to leave.  I’ll miss our coffee time and shopping trips, our sushi lunches and Subway runs, our baseball chats and baby talk.  Not that we won’t keep in touch, but it won’t be the same. 

One day I’ll just be a vague remembrance: “Remember Julie that used to work here?  The one who overcooked the popcorn and cheated on crossword puzzles?  She had a weird obsession with Friends and went running at lunch and stunk for the rest of the day?  I wonder what she’s doing now?  Coincidentally, we haven’t had to refill the salt shaker since she’s been gone!”

 Goodbye, TAC.  I’ll miss you!

6 Responses to “Never Say Goodbye”

  1. monnik March 19, 2008 at 10:51 am #

    Aw… this is a great tribute to TAC. You’ll make many friends at BAC (or is it GAC?) too, though.

    Good luck in the new gig!!

    Oh, and I loved the earworm. Nothing wrong with a little Bon Jovi to brighten the day.

  2. fabat40 March 19, 2008 at 3:26 pm #

    Ah man! I’m truly sad that I’ve only been able to work with you (or was it FOR you) for a mere 8 months. You made it so easy for me to give up control. I’ve never met anyone I trusted enough to get stuff right, but you’re even more anal & organized than me. You’ll be truly missed — and that’s from someone you don’t even like. Just think how the others will feel.

  3. Jodi Scheib March 19, 2008 at 3:32 pm #

    I agree about the earworm – lucky you, you will get to hear me sing it after my second martini tonight!
    You will be missed here at TAC- that’s for damn sure. Who is going to understand my Friends references? OR eat sushi or subway with me? Who is going to care when the LO makes a really big poopie 🙂 (eeewwwww).
    I PROMISE I won’t hug you tonight and I will even TRY not to cry too much.
    Now, please write me a note on how long to cook the popcorn for and what ask NHPTV uses!!!!
    :)THX- I’m SO proud of you CHICA!!!!!!
    Jodi

  4. Mare March 19, 2008 at 4:26 pm #

    How nice. Good luck at the new place!

  5. Melanie March 19, 2008 at 8:18 pm #

    Julie, I loved this post! I think you’re a good story teller. And cheating on crossword puzzles? Well, I never!

    I am sure you’ll be missed at TAC and beloved at BAC – you’ll be great!

  6. jessica March 21, 2008 at 5:33 am #

    mandy moore haircut? i want to see pics! good luck at the new gig. you’ll do great—you always do!

Leave a Reply

