Got a Good Job in the City

25 Mar

So, today was day 2 of my new career at BAC.  I know you’re all dying to know the specifics, so here goes:

The benefits are so good that  it took 4-1/2 hours to go through them.  But, I was fed and appeased with chocolate, so I didn’t complain.

There appears to be no personal Internet use allowed.  I learned this by attempting to check my personal e-mail, and getting a big red X instead.  Ooopsie.

I found the kitchen & bathroom, but it took me 10 minutes to find my cube this morning.  I haven’t yet had lunch in the kitchen, so I don’t know the details.  (Such as, do they have an adequate salt supply?)  I think there is a toaster, because someone in my row o’cubes made a waffle this morning. 

Oh yeah, I have a cube.  This is a toughie.  I’ve had an office for four of the past 5-1/2 years.  I feel like someone is going to sneak up on me, and I can hear everything.  I wonder if I can listen to my iPod on my headphones? 

The people seem nice, but I met about a million of them and can’t remember who I met, let alone their names or what they do.  I know 5 people I will work with on a daily basis, and I know where their cubes are on the farm, so that’s good for now.  Oh, and I know the help desk phone #, even though I don’t know my own.

The commute is another toughie.  I took the Red Line yesterday.  That was a mistake.  The morning was okay, because I get on at the second stop, so I got a seat (I also got a large woman practically sitting in my lap, but whatever).  The ride home was awful.  Then the traffic was awful.  Then I got off a different exit and got lost, eventually ending up right where I started (its a longer story than that, but it makes me look really stupid, so I’ll spare you).

Today I ventured on to the commuter rail.  It was much nicer, but pricier.  Well worth it.  I had a seat, I knew what time it got in and left, and I even bought a twelve ride ticket until I order a monthly pass through BAC.  Luckily, I was not on this train.  That could have soured my train experience.

All in all, BAC is a good experience so far.  As much as I miss my martini guzzling, fried mac and cheese eating, ugly chair picking outing, TAC coworkers, I think I’ll be happy at BAC.  As soon as I figure out how to get in with my key card and without causing a security breach.  That’s my goal for tomorrow!

6 Responses to “Got a Good Job in the City”

  1. monnik March 26, 2008 at 11:11 am #

    When I came to GAB (giant ass bank) I also went from an office to a cube. I hated it, it meant people could sneak up on me while I was perusing the GDT or playing cribbage online. So, being the genius that I am, I bought one of those 99 cent rear view mirror stickers to put on my monitor and now I can see people who are trying to sneak up on me. I highly recommend one.

    We are also not allowed to get to our personal email accounts. But I figured out how to get around by using a lesser known internet proxy. I’ll get busted for it sooner or later.

    Have a good rest of the first week!

  2. Becca March 26, 2008 at 10:06 pm #

    Wait, you didn’t ask about the internet usage in your interview? Is there still time to get a different job?

  3. Mare March 27, 2008 at 8:50 am #

    It sounds like a pretty good first week overall. In no time you should be able to upgrade to a cube w/ a shower curtain.

  4. jessica March 27, 2008 at 5:20 pm #

    glad the new job is going good. sadly, to say, us nashua teachers are going on strike on Monday…. 😦

  5. Jodi Scheib March 27, 2008 at 8:17 pm #

    No personal email? OMG – the door is always open at TAC and you can do personal crap ALL day :)!

  6. Julie March 27, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    That’s a fabulous idea, Mon! The mirror and the lesser known proxy.

    Bec, I didn’t. It was on my list of things to not reveal, along with “I really dislike people” and “I love Guitar Hero.”

    Mare, that would be great! I almost panicked because I didn’t think I had a cube wall big enough for my Red Sox calendar. Even the more Senior people have cubes!

    Jess, that sucks. Hopefully it gets resolved quickly.

    Jodi — I don’t even think I can wear jeans on Fridays, let alone my jammies 🙂

Leave a Reply

