Girl You Know Its True

4 Apr

New Kids on the Block are back!  And hotter than ever!  That’s right, the boys (men?  Boys to men?) announced their big comeback this morning on the Today show (even though you heard it here first!)  I, of course missed the big show, as I was already slaving away at BAC.  I just watched the video, and I may have squealed when they came out.  Just a little bit.

My dad just called to ask if I heard about the New Kids reunion (let’s face the facts: when they tried to officially change to “NKOTB,” things went down hill fast) . He also reminded me of the fact I said they would be bigger than the Beatles, to which I adamantly replied “They will be!”  Did the Beatles ever make a comeback?  No.  Did they dig John Lenon up from the grave and give him hair plugs ala Jordan Knight?  I think not.

The New Kids will be debuting on May 16th in Rockerfeller Plaza on the Today show.  Who’s coming with me?  I don’t think J will be joining me, as his feelings on the comeback are, “Hey, I miss my great grandmother too, but I’m not going to dig her up and let her walk around like a zombie.”  Hater.  (Note:  He did not say anything like that when his beloved Smashing Pumpkins made a comeback).

They will also be coming to Boston for the KISS Concert.  I’m trying to figure out how I can go for just the New Kids and skip the Jonas Brothers.  I just realized Wyclef Jean will also be there.  I could stay for that too.  My BFF & I sing a lovely version of “Dollah Dollah Bills Y’All” — just ask everyone in the limo on her 30th birthday.

My thoughts on the guys in general:

Danny = still the ugly one

Jon = too quiet.  And shouldn’t acne go away by this age?

Donnie = pretty good looking, yet still not as hot as Marky Mark. 

Jordan = looks the same.  Too much of a pretty boy for me.

Joey = always my favorite.  A bit too skinny though.  It must be his wife’s fault.  A woman named Barron can’t possibly cook well. 

Here they are!  They still have the Right Stuff.  I’ll be loving them forever.

(Yes, I kow the title is fom Milli Vanilli.  Another group that broke my heart.  Between NKOTB breaking up, Milli Vanilli’s lies, and finding out wrestling wasn’t real & Hulk Hogan didn’t break all his ribs, its a miracle I survived my pre-teen & teen years).

6 Responses to “Girl You Know Its True”

  1. priszm April 4, 2008 at 10:27 pm #

    Sadly I too was slaving away at BAC when this was live. Wait, no I wasn’t, I was at BAC, just not slaving away. Which made for a boring day. So, after watching the video of the reunion, I then watched music videos on You Tube. And I sadly still remember a lot of the songs.

  2. Melanie April 5, 2008 at 8:26 am #

    A girl after my own heart! This is such great news, I’ve been humming New Kids songs in my head for the last 24 hours (but thanks for the MV earworm I’ve now got)! Are you really going to go see them? A friend of mine and I are seriously considering it.

    And in that picture, I think Donnie is smokin’. Joey is still my fave, too, but he appears to have an unfortunate affection for v-neck t-shirts lately which is giving me the creeps.

  3. jessica April 5, 2008 at 2:27 pm #

    I am so happy they are getting back together! I would go see them in a heartbeat. I too, will be loving them forever!!

  4. Mare April 6, 2008 at 6:56 am #

    If you can get the day off I will go. And you can stay at my place to save the $$.

  5. Jane April 7, 2008 at 3:20 pm #

    Luckily I also have a creepy affection for the Jonas Brothers, so I’m in, baby.

  6. Julie April 8, 2008 at 7:30 pm #

    See? You guys are true friends.

Leave a Reply

