Happy Fourth of July!

4 Jul

Yes, I am blogging today and not anywhere fun like a cookout.  Why?  I don’t know.  I have few friends with yards, one of whom in away.  My parents aren’t here, J is at work.  I am washing glasses we don’t use and packing them.  Whooppee.

Actually, I’ve had a busy morning.  I woke up at 5:30 with J, and made him an iced coffee to bring to work.  I should be wife of the year!  I was pretty awake this morning at that hour, as i went to bed at 10 last night, worn out by my pedicure and running for the train.  Have you ever ran for a train wearing flip flops with toilet paper in your toes, desperately trying not to ruin a $40 polish change?  Its not easy.

After fulfilling my wifely duties, I headed out in the rain to my big Fourth of July event:  The Hingham Road Race.  Miraculously, the rain stopped (making my friends who were supposed to run with me and bailed look like even bigger weenies) and the weather was nice for a 4.6 mile jaunt into town.  I know, random length, but its a nice course, full of million dollar houses and nice, rich people drinking coffee.  This was the 50th running of the race (my 3rd) and probably my last year doing it.  I would have to get up around 4:30 am to make it here by race time when we move, and that ain’t happening. 

After the race, I went to see J at work.  He was bored out of his mind.  He always has to work on the fourth, which stinks, but its not like anyone invites us to do anything anyways.  Next year we’ll have our own party!  Anyways, J gave me some food, and loaded me up with iced coffee, so I’ll bounce off the walls for awhile and probably crash right before we watch fireworks on tv.  Go me.

Leave a Reply

