The Joys of Home Ownership

1 Aug

We are (finally) in our new house.  Yay!  I’ll spare you all the horrid deatils of the closing, but I will tell you that from Friday at 4pm and Monday at 8 pm the following things occured:

Tears (lots of them — from me and the mortgage broker)

Alcohol consumption

Lots of fast food

J & I wandering aimlessly around the apartment, unsure of what to do

Swearing

Yelling

Punching boxes (that was me, and highly ineffective)

Lots of phone calls

Lots more crying

But, when all was said and done, we walked into our home with our own key at 10pm Monday night.  We slept on the floor, which was very uncomfortable, and forgot to pack towels for showers the next morning.  I bought beach towels at 6am at CVS, and J finished drying off with a paper towel.  The move the next day was exhausting yet uneventful, and we are almost unpacked.  We also have no furniture, and eat on folding chairs and tray tables.  But we have the Internets, and the router is hooked up, so I can stop surfing the web in the boiler room.  Its hot in there!

We also have a very dead lawn.  Very dead.  I tried raking it today, with a metal rake and no gloves.  I got some nice blisters before I put the gloves on.  Then the lint from the gloves got in the blisters, and it hurt even more.  I sclepped the dead grass into the woods in my Ann Taylor Loft bag.  Pretty fancy, huh?

So, we’re here, and I’ll have pictures as soon as J gives me back the camera.  I know you all can’t wait for the photo montages!  I wonder where my camera cord is….

3 Responses to “The Joys of Home Ownership”

  1. Monnik August 1, 2008 at 10:44 pm #

    Glad you’re finally in the house. I’m looking forward to the pictures.

    I hear beer helps blisters in an indirect, numb the pain sort of way.

  2. Mare August 2, 2008 at 12:46 pm #

    I’m thrilled that you are all moved and now a real home owner.

    I plan to visit in the fall, is that acceptable?

  3. Julie August 2, 2008 at 2:02 pm #

    There will definately be beer tonight — good call!

    Of course, Mare. We might even have furniture by then!!!

Leave a Reply

