Boo!

8 Oct

J is a lover of all things scary and gross.  He always watches those stupid, horrible movies, like House of a Thousand Corpses, and Shaun of the Dead, and tries to make me watch them.  Don’t get me wrong, I like some scary stuff.  I went on a ghost tour of New Orleans.  I love It (but mostly the beginning, aka VHS tape #1, before that scary clown shows up too often), and I love reading most Steven King books.  I will admit that I almost started crying during 1408, I was that scared.  Okay, that much of a baby. 

One year when we first started dating, J got us tickets to Spooky World.  Spooky World used to be held behind Gillette Stadium (where the three time world champion who can’t beat the Dolphins without Tom Brady New England Patriots play), and was basically a theme park of scariness.  There were haunted houses, rated 2-5 in terms of horror, games, and food you couldn’t even eat without scary monsters bugging you.  We started with a level 2 haunted house, which was just some sort of history of terror, no biggie.

Then J dragged me into a level 4 haunted house.  It was dark, and people jumped out at you, then followed you around (invading my ever important personal space).  They wouldn’t touch you, just get so close that you couln’t breathe or get away if you wanted to.  It took what felt like forever to go through.  When we finally got outside, J turned to me and said “That was awesome!” and I burst into tears and refused to go into any more haunted houses.  (Something he’ll never let me live down).

So, maybe I don’t like scary so much.  J is watching some show on haunted places, and thinks it would be “fun” to go to a haunted hotel.  Uh, seriously?  I found out the Hotel Del Coronado was haunted while we were there and almost couldn’t sleep because I convinced that Kate Morgan (not Street Girl Kate Morgan, of course)  would come back to haunt me. 

J has his sights set on the Stanley Hotel , where the Shining was allegedly set.  People see and hear some crazy stuff there.  Maybe not as crazy as scary twins in the hall, or a blonde and a bear in a bedroom, but still, scary stuff.  I like the Shining, I don’t want to stay there, as much as I need a good vacation. All work and no play makes Julie a dull girl, after all.

One Response to “Boo!”

  1. craftycritter October 9, 2008 at 7:08 am #

    We went to Busch Gardens this year and I wan’t scared at all. And I scare easily. I think it’s because they worked too hard and relied too much on sound, including the music.

Leave a Reply

