The Ninth Day of Christmas: Cookie Baking

16 Dec

As I told you last year, my mom & I bake a ton of cookies to give as hostess gifts at Christmastime.  This year, we invited my two BFF’s (in the ugly sweater pic from yesterday) and their moms over to join in the fun.  Some people didn’t think we’d pull it off, but we did it!  The wine helped, as did a little prepping before hand.

The list of cookies:

  • Peanut Butter Blossoms
  • Almond Bars
  • Magic Cookie Bars
  • Saltine Toffee Crack
  • Rum Balls
  • Butter Balls
  • Buckeyes
  • Gingerbread men
  • Sugar cookies (a small batch, which I later finished.  It looks like a 3 year old made them.  Remind me never to make those again)
  • Shortbread

We drank wine and chit chatted throughout the afternoon, then ordered pizza.  After that, the crew got a bit lethargic and we started wrapping up cookie plates.  My mother, the cookie nazi, kept trying to talk us into baking more cookies.  I swear she would have kept us there all night if she could — “What about more peanut butter blossoms?  Julie, make another batch of cookie bars…its still early!”  But she then decided that my oven didn’t bake right, so I had to kick her out. 

All together, we made about 15cookie trays, plus a half a ton of fudge (my science professor BFF isn’t so good at math), destroyed the kitchen that J had scrubbed that day, and sacrificed a corn holder to the garbage disposal gods (twice).  It was a success.  Of course I still have more to bake…Martha Stewart doesn’t sleep at Christmas time!

3 Responses to “The Ninth Day of Christmas: Cookie Baking”

  1. Priszm December 16, 2008 at 11:10 pm #

    Need my address to send me some? I really like peanut butter type cookies 😀

  2. Mare December 17, 2008 at 8:06 am #

    Thank you for your refound blogging commitment.

  3. Julie December 17, 2008 at 10:35 pm #

    Sure, Priszm! I’ll have my mom do it.

    Thanks, Mare!

Leave a Reply

