The Fifth Day of Christmas: Christmas Movies

20 Dec

I love Christmas movies.  Not enough to buy them, but enough to watch them every time they come on tv.  There’s just something much better about watching movies on tv.  J bought me the Wedding Singer one year, because I love that movie, but I’ve never watched it on DVD.  I only watch it when its on tv.  Christmas movies are exactly the same.

Here’s my top ten Christmas Movie list:

10. A Charlie Brown Christmas: Poor Chuck and his goofy dog serving toast for Christmas dinner.  But the Peanuts gang is all there, and the song with no words that screams Christmas, so its all good.

9. The Muppet Christmas Carol: Best version of A Christmas Carol ever.  Yes, they’re puppets, but so funny and so cute. 

8.  The Year Without a Santa Claus: This is a contribution from J, who walks around singing “I’m Mister Heatmiser” when I turn down the heat at night.  I do enjoy claymation.

7. A Very Brady Christmas: J reminded me of this one, and I can’t believe I forgot it.  The Brady kids are all grown up, I can’t remember if Bobby has confessed to being a race car driver yet, but they’re all home for Christmas.  Poor dad gets called into work, ad the cave in happens, but Flo and the kids lure him out with “O, Come All Ye Faithful.”  Its a beautiful moment.

images

6. Frosty the Snowman: Why the kids’ moms let them leave town with a giant snowman is beyond me, but its still a classic.  John Goodman’s Frosty gets a big thumbs down, though.  Dan is not a snowman.

5.  The Santa Clause: Only the first one, the other two were not good at all.  But Tim Allen is amusing, and the story is cute.  Its a nice family movie. 

4.  Rudulph, the Red Nosed Reindeer: I admit, I think I was older when I saw this for the first time (thanks Mom), but its a classic.  I cry for the misfit toys, and poor Hermie.  What’s so wrong about being a dentist?

mv5bodawnta5mzcwnv5bml5banbnxkftztcwnzcwmzcwmg__v1__cr810338338_ss90_

3. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation:  Second only to the original “Vacation” in humor, who doesn’t love a family fighting through Christmas, setting fires and killing cats while exploding their RV toilet?  Its how everyone celebrates, right?

2. Elf: Really, how can you not love a movie that promotes “candy, candy canes, candy corn, and syrup” as the four major food groups?  Hilarious.  I’m watching it now.

1.  A Christmas Story: This is the only thing we watch on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.  I fall asleep with it on, I wake up and its on again.  I don’t know if I’ve ever seen the entire thing, but Randy eating like the piggie gets me every time.  By the way, there’s another movie with the same family, called “It Runs in the Family.”  I saw it once, and could never find it again.   

mv5bmjixmzy2ntyzof5bml5banbnxkftztcwotq5ndaymg__v1__cr720336336_ss80_

2 Responses to “The Fifth Day of Christmas: Christmas Movies”

  1. Becca December 23, 2008 at 1:26 am #

    No Miracle On 34th Street? You are way too young. Stop being so young.

  2. Julie December 23, 2008 at 8:01 am #

    Its terrible, I know. I never saw Its a Wonderful Life, either. I blame it on my parents. Sure, they gave me love & support, but I missed out on a lot ofmovies. I have a right to be bitter

Leave a Reply

