Welcome, 2009!

4 Jan

I was going to write the traditional New Year’s blog about my resolutions, but I realized that I did that last year and accomplished almost none of them.  Ooopsie.  I’m too smart to do that again!  Instead, I thought I’d reflect on the highlights of 2008:

  • Sadly left TAC for a new job at BAC.  After months of talking to myself in my cube, I have friends at BAC.  Its not quite the same as TAC, but almost every day I find something about it that makes me like my job a bit more (this excludes the months of September & October when work was just not good for anyone in my industry).  And, I’ve kept this job for almost a year, which is good and a trend that I hope continues through 2009.
  • As you know, J & I bought our first house, and we have no regrets at all.  Some days I just sit here and think: how did I get so lucky have such an awesome house?  Then the oil bill comes and I cry.  Seriously, I think we’ve done a decent job of being homeowners.  We haven’t attempted any major renovations, but I think we’ve made a nice home.
  • J & I celebrated two years of being married on 12/2.  Now, I know two years isn’t a lot in the grand scheme of things, but marriage is an adjustment and a lot of work, and two years of being happy seems like a good start to me!!!  J cooked a lovely dinner, bought me flowers, and started a fire (his new favorite thing to do), and we went out to dinner the weekend after. 
  • As you all know, Barrack Obama was voted in as our new president, a historical event and one I hope will change America for the better.
  • I turned 30 and didn’t cry about it too much.  I had an awesome party with lots of keg Coors Light, so that helped ease the pain a bit.
  • I went to three great weddings, got a new “niece” who is adorable and awesome, and attended too many fun birthday parties to count.

Overall, 2008 was a good year.  Maybe not the most exciting year on record, but we stayed happy, healthy & employed, so that’s all that really matters.  Here’s hoping 2009 brings more of the same, but with  a Caribbean vacation thrown in there as well!

2 Responses to “Welcome, 2009!”

  1. Mare January 5, 2009 at 10:14 am #

    I looked at the last list and you didn’t have to go into rehab so that is a big fat check plus.

    And you blogged more in December which is in 2008 so it totally counts.

    • Julie January 5, 2009 at 11:56 am #

      This is why I like you Mare – you’re so positive!

      Rehab was a close call 🙂

Leave a Reply

