Hope.

20 Jan

I know nothing about politics.  I stay blissfully unaware to stay out of heated discussions, mainly with my family.  But from around June of 2008 on, I’ve felt something I haven’t felt in regards to politics before: hope.

I didn’t know what it is about our new President that made me cry during the DNC.  I couldn’t put my finger on why I voted for the first time ever this year, and got choked up afterwards.  I wasn’t even sure why I stayed up on election night to see Obama’s acceptance speech.

But slowly, I saw it all come together.  The stickers, the shirts, the chants.  The kids who can’t vote but want to.  The overwhelming numbers at the polls, the unbelievable number on the mall.

I’m a negative nelly.  I admit it.  I need to see Obama to believe him.  I need to  the action, not just hear the words.  Oh, his words are good, and they are said with such conviction it makes me cry.  But the difference is that for once in my short life, I believe those words. 

What Barrack Obama has given this country, and my cold little heart, is hope.  Hope that we’ll get out of Iraq.  Hope that I won’t lose my job and my house.  Hope that we can fix this country (yes we can).  Hope that things will really be okay and our nation will be transformed into the country we deserve to be.  I haven’t paid a ton of attention to what our former Commander in Chief has done the past eight years, but I know it wasn’t good.  But now I’m paying attention, and I’m waiting, not for him to fail, but for us to succeed.

I believe the rhetoric.  I’m buying into the hype.  And I really don’t believe I’ll be let down.  I guess this is what he means by “Hope over Fear.”  I like it.

2 Responses to “Hope.”

  1. Mare January 21, 2009 at 8:28 am #

    Yep.
    It’s good to hear that not just optimistic Olivia’s are happier now.

  2. Julie January 27, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    very nicely put…

Leave a Reply

