Highlights from July

2 Aug

Since I never want to post these little things that don’t seem blog worthy enough on their own, I thought I’d put them all together for your viewing enjoyment!  Here are my favorite July moments:

I joined NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month) but didn’t follow through.  August is out, since I’ll be away for a week, but September has promise!  I did enjoy reading Mel’s posts, though!

It stopped raining in MA…kind of.  At least it got warm.  And muggy.  We New Englanders are truly never happy with the weather.

I got a raise at work.  It was little, but it was a raise, so I’ll take it.  Never say no to money, or men with money, for that matter.

I ran a 10K in Maine, by myself.  I survived, despite the fact I was out with friends until 2 am the morning of, and had to get up at 6 for the race.  What were we doing in Freeport, ME at 2am?  Why, helping Turkish men carry feta into their closed restaurant for some free drinks, of course!  What else would we have been doing?

I went to my brother’s annual Seafood Fest.  The menu, for your pleasure: Salmon dip, shrimp cocktail, scallops wrapped in bacon, Stuffies (that’s stuffed quahogs for you non RIers), grilled pizza with scrimp, crabcakes, steamers, and blueberry peach crumble.  All for $25.  Best deal in RI.

Tailgated for the first time, at Billy Joel and Elton John, Face 2 Face.  I knew all the words to 98% of the Billy Joel songs (Zanzibar?  Really, where did he pull that one from from?) and hardly any to the Elton John songs.  Then again, I don’t think Elton did either.  I’m pretty sure the official words to Philadelphia Freedom are “Blahblahblah Philadelphia Freedom! Blah.”

I ruined my cell phone and my iPod Touch within a week of each other.  The phone I was fine without.  I literally almost died along with my iPod.  And the “Genius” didn’t believe that I only got a drop of water on it.  Technically, I did knock over my entire Sigg bottle when my coworker kindly noted that my laptop wasn’t locked, but not much water actually got on the Touch.  It was really all very sad.

Spent a few days drinking beer on the beach.  What  is it about beer outside that makes it so good?

Hit up Providence Restaurant Week at two restaurants not in Providence – Lofts at NYLO in Warwick (very cool, great food) and the Post Office Café in East Greenwich (a little boring, but good).

Tried to get Tagalong Blizzard at Dairy Queen.  They were out of Tagalongs.  Pouted and vowed never to go back to Dairy Queen.

Discovered my new favorite summer drink: Sweet Tea Vodka with Lemonade, preferably Dels.  Sooo good.

Spent ten minutes staring at a blinking light in my bedroom and trying to figure out where it came from.  Finally touched it – Lightning bug.  Gross, but I checked it out after I squished it to see if it was still flashing.

One Response to “Highlights from July”

  1. Mare August 2, 2009 at 8:57 am #

    I love this list. Please make it a monthly feature.

Leave a Reply

