My Latest Outrage

7 Sep

I don’t like to collect offenses.  I’m not one of those people who wants to save the world with my facebook status.  I worry more about things that affect the lives of me or my family more than anything else.  I guess you could call me selfish in that regard.  But when I read this article on Boston.com last week, I almost had a heart attack.

Basically, a Massachusetts prep school is getting rid of all of the books in the library, and going digital.  They are buying Kindles, flat screen TVs to project information from the Internet, laptop work stations, and a $50,000 coffee bar with a $12,000 cappuccino machine.

Thud.  Where do I even begin?

I love books.  I’ve had my nose buried in a book for most of my life.  As a tween I could read a Babysitter’s Club book in an hour.  I went on vacation to Mexico at sixteen with a suitcase full of Steven King.  I was a freaking English major.  And my only saving grace on my three hour commute is my books.

There’s just something about a good book.  I love to go to the library with no idea of what I want to read, and wander the shelves.  I love to read outside in the sun, or in bed.

I’m not a fuddy duddy.  I embrace technology.  I have the Kindle app on my iPod Touch, and I have a few books on it.  I’m too cheap to buy the number of books I read, so I don’t use it too often.  It is convenient, but just not the same as holding a book and turning the pages.  Plus, I’ve found the formatting on some of the books I’ve purchased to be so poor that it almost ruins the book for me.

I can’t imagine being a high school student who has to do all of my research and reading on a computer.  Have you ever tried to read a long article on the computer?  It hurts your eyes.  Its also hard to highlight, dog-ear, and underline a computer screen while doing research.  How do you lay in bed and cram for test with the laptop? Its not easy.  And its just not right.

Furthermore, why do high school kids need to drink coffee?  I know they do it on the new 90210, but I didn’t know they did it in real life.  Why can’t they drink Mountain Dew and pop a No-Doze like we did, back in the day?  Don’t they know that coffee will stunt ther growth?  There’s no need for kids to drink coffee, especially not coffee that comes from a $12,000 machine.

I realize I’m beginning to sound like an old curmudgeon, but really.  The world needs books, real books with real pages.  If this is the way of the future, I don’t like it.  I’ll have to hole up in a library somewhere and refuse to let it be destroyed.  I’ll have my iPod and cell phone with me, of course.

4 Responses to “My Latest Outrage”

  1. fabat40 September 7, 2009 at 5:17 pm #

    My God do I miss these rants! You go girl.

  2. Kari September 7, 2009 at 6:43 pm #

    Until we stop printing paper, I will continue to just say no to the kindle. I need to hold a book and flip the pages. Yes, I love my computer and love my gadgets, but reading is just personal. I hate reading on my computer, if an article is longer than 5 minutes worth of reading, forget it, not happening, I lose all interest. But give me a book, and I will read all afternoon.

  3. Melanie September 8, 2009 at 10:37 am #

    I’m with you, Julie. I’m a reader from way back, too.

  4. Lori September 14, 2009 at 7:43 am #

    I totally agree Julie. I love the smell of an old book from the library… Pages all yellowed and tattered. It just makes reading more cozy!!!

Leave a Reply

