We were on a break!

10 Jan

Hello.  Remember me?  I used to come here and blog a bit.  I started out strong, then faded away and only posted Three Things Thursday.  Then I dissapeared for a bit.

Why did I leave?  I don’t really know.  I think it was a combination of things.  The simple answer is: I started this blog because I like writing, and I like talking about myself.  Then I ran out of things to write about.  And I didn’t want to blog inane things, thenI got lazy.

The more complicated reason is that I’ve been feeling a little “eh” about social media.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my Facebook.  But why am I on Twitter?  Who really cares?  I don’t even really care to read Tweets, why would I care to write them?  I like reading interesting blogs, but I don’t like reading things people post just to post, and I felt like thats what I was starting to do.

I’ve heard some speakers at work recently discussing social media and the fact that its the way of the future.  The numbers and stats are truly amazing (and, of course I don’t remember any of them).  As a business tool, social marketing done correctly is brilliant and cost effective.  But what is it doing to our society?  People are on Blackberries and iPhones everywhere: at meetings, at dinners, in the car, on vacation.  Why?  Are we really that important?

When I started at BAC, Day One, I got signed up for a Blackberry.  I just agreed with my boss when she told me I needed one, but then  thought – fine, I’ll take it, but I’ll never use it.  And I do.  All the time.  I check it before I go to bed, before I get on the train, on the train, on the weekends.  Trust me, I am not that important, not even a little bit.  But I have it, I’m expected to check it, and I’ve saved an ass or two by responding to something on my commute home.   And I have an iPod Touch, and I love it.  I love the fact I can get wi fi at work.  Because the world would end if I couldn’t check my FB statuses?

I’m not one of those “I’m going to throw away all electronics and live in a van powered by olive oil in the woods by Walmart” types of people.  Heck, I’m sure I’ll want the next hot gadget, and the only reason I won’t get it is because I’m too cheap.  But I can’t help but wonder what our society is becoming because of social media.  I miss phone calls, even though I primarily text.  I miss face to face conversations, even though I spend 90% of my day on e-mail.  I guess only time will tell where this train is going.  Like Becca said – I’m an old soul.  One day I’ll wave my cane and my iPod at the youngins with their new gadgets and remember the days pre-avatars and YouTubing every move your baby makes.

Anyway, where does all this lead us?  I miss blogging, I miss writing, I miss your comments (did I mention that I’m vain and need to see comments and the visitors’ counter go up to keep me going sometimes?  Just some food for thought).  I have some ideas popping around in my head, and my time off has been nothing but good, fun times, no major drama, so I’m sure I’ll have some retrospective posts.  At the risk of sounding like every other newbie at the gym, I’m going to stick with this thing.  Its too much fun to give up..

5 Responses to “We were on a break!”

  1. Mare January 10, 2010 at 5:50 pm #

    Yeah! Welcome back. I’m glad everything was okay. Boring is fine.

  2. Kari January 10, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    I’ve missed you! My life is boring too, but I’ve decided to embrace it and accept that it is what it is and that I’m comfortable with it.

    And when in doubt, post pics of your dog. Everyone loves a good doggy picture!

  3. Becca January 10, 2010 at 11:47 pm #

    This is a comment about nothing!

    No, actually I wanted to tell you that you’re important and everyone’s important and it’s good to be connected to all you important people.

  4. Jane January 11, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    I read your tweets. You’re even important enough that I have an SMS subscription to you, and I only do that for maybe 6 or 7 people total.

    Write when you enjoy it. Don’t write when you don’t feel like it or don’t have ideas. And thank you for not being one of those bloggers that throws a daily “I don’t know what to write about” whiny post into my feed reader. I appreciate it.

  5. Julie January 12, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Thank you all for the nice comments, and for feeding my ego a bit 🙂

Leave a Reply

