Ouch

24 Jan

I’m not a patient person. I decided I had to have new barefoot style running shoes for my 5 mile run this weekend. I really wanted Nike Frees. The Vibrams are too ugly,and I wasn’t sure the New Balances were quite what I wanted. I went to Rhode Runner, RIs only running store, and they had nothing. So I ordered two pair on zappos, free shipping, free return.

They came on Friday, and, aftermuch hemming and hawing, I decided on the pink size 7s rather than the smaller red ones, and set out for my run. The shoes are unbelieveably lightweight, and felt great. My stride was good, I wasn’t heel striking, all was well.

Until mile 1.5. That’s when the blisters came. Not on my heel, but on the front of my arch. I don’t like to feel the arch support, which is part of the reason I ran with the larger shoes. But by mile 4 I wanted to cry. If I had seen a cop I would have waved him down for a ride home. I wish I had brought my cell phone to call for help. 911 takes shoe emeregency calls, right?

I somehow made it home to two nickel sized blisters and a baby toe cut that stung like heck in the shower. I now have $170 worth of Nike Frees that hurt like the devil, and I can only return the unworn pair. What to do now? Slather on body glide and hope they break themselves in? Go to Marathon Sports in Boston to get fitted and buy another pair? Suck it up and buy the Vibrams?

All i know is that I have to do something aside from what I did today, which is to glare at the sneaks and pout at my blisters. Who knew barefoot running shoes could be so difficult?

2 Responses to “Ouch”

  1. Becca January 25, 2010 at 12:03 am #

    Knowing Zappo’s, they will take them back.

  2. Mare January 25, 2010 at 9:45 pm #

    Ouch is right. I wear a size 9.5 in a running shoe so I can’t even make you a deal.

Leave a Reply

