Unloved

17 Jan

Last week, I took a personal day, to do personal things, so don’t ask what they were.  I met my BFF at a shopping plaza near my hometown (but in a town not nearly as cool), and called my dad on the way.  He said that my mom was at the same plaza, and he was meeting her at Panera at 1.  I told him I would meet them there, but didn’t bother to call my mom because she never answers her phone.

I’m in my BFF’s car, and she’s pulling into a spot, and I see my mom standing by her car.  So I roll down my window and say “What are you doing?”  She gave me a weird look and said, “I’m waiting for someone.”  And I said, “Mom, its me.” Her reply:  “I’m not your mother.”

Ouch.

Obviously, she didn’t realize it was me, didn’t think I’d be there, didn’t recognize my BFF’s car.  And we had a good laugh about it after, especially when my dad, who was just pulling in to a parking spot, said “I’ve been trying to tell you she’s not your mother for years.”

My family is warped, and a little wacky, but its all good.  And the unloved feeling only lasted until my parents bought me lunch.  It doesn’t take much to make me happy, broccoli cheddar soup usually does the trick.

One Response to “Unloved”

  1. Beth January 17, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    I think I’m going to have soup for lunch now. This story made me giggle. 🙂

Leave a Reply

