Race #1: The Old Fashioned Flat 5K in Foxboro

20 Feb

For my first race of 2011, I recruited two very reluctant running buddies: one of the Street Girls and my BFF.  I’ve run quite a few races with both of them, but they were reluctant because it was freezing.  Twenty degrees with a bitter wind.  Worse than freezing, really.  I successfully bribed both of them, though, and we were all freezing together at the start today at 11am.

I don’t know what made this race Old Fashioned, but there were a lot more people than I expected.  About 250 for the 5K, but there was also a 10 miler with more than 500 entrants.  We started at different spots, and the 5Kers had to wait for the 10 milers to get moving before we were off.  The wait was excruciating.  Much to my friends’ embarrassment, I’m still wearing the VFFs, and they are really not good for cold weather runs.  I wasn’t 100% sure I’d still have all my toes when I finished running.  They warmed up about 1/2 mile in, but then I got that fun “oh my God, my toes are on fire!” feeling before they evened out.

The race itself was good, not too crowded, not too hilly (but not exactly “flat”), and, once I started moving, I was good to go.  At one point, I passed two women, and when I got ahead of them, I heard one say “Oh, look, she’s barefoot!” and then they started talking about barefoot running.  I always think its funny that people assume I can’t hear them talking about me when I have my headphones in.  At least they were nice!

We all finished the race around the same time, though not together.  My official time was 29:59 – got right in there for sub 30!  Certainly not my best race, but this was the first time I’ve run outside for 3 miles in months, so I’ll take it.  We passed on the “free hot entrée” and went for a beer and a burger, so all was right with the world.  And I still have all my toes!

PS: I just signed up for Athlinks, a site that pulls in all your results from your races into one place.  It seems pretty cool so far.  A little depressing to watch myself get slower, but fun anyways!

2 Responses to “Race #1: The Old Fashioned Flat 5K in Foxboro”

  1. Lydia February 21, 2011 at 4:36 pm #

    There is a woman who runs in my town totally barefoot, with a heavy-looking backpack on. People talk about how weird it is. I worry that she’ll cut her foot on some glass or something. If I ever have lots of money, I’m going to buy her some VFFs. She has these cool ass-long braids that trail out behind her as she runs.

  2. Julie February 22, 2011 at 9:24 pm #

    I’m not brave enough to go completely barefoot! Maybe on a track, but not on the road. The pedi ladies laugh at my feet enough as it is.

Leave a Reply

