Race #5: The Harpoon 5 Miler in Boston

8 Jun

The last time I ran the Harpoon was in 2007, and it was disgusting.  It was 90 degrees and muggy, the brewery smelled like old beer, the ocean smelled like old fish, and the runners smelled like old hockey bags.  However, there is free beer at the end, and the best beer to drink after a race is Harpoon, so I signed up this year.  (I’ve wanted to sign up other years, but the race always fills up fast.  This year there was a lottery and I got in – woot!)

I ran this race with my college roommate, Michelle, who I ran the Boston Marathon with, and is the worst training partner ever.  I’m sorry, but its true.  (She’s also banned from my fruit bowl, and from drinking margaritas around me, but that’s another story).  Michelle was running with some friends from her hometown of Rock-Vegas, MA, and I tagged along.

It was kind of chilly, but not too bad.  I can usually keep up with Michelle, but she took off on me, despite the fact she was on 5 hours sleep (please see above, re: worst training partner ever).  I felt really weird during the race – like I was sweating too much, but then I’d get the chills.  I actually drank water, which I skip during my 5Ks.  I like the 5 mile distance, its long enough to be difficult, but not long enough to have to train.

There were no clocks on the course, so I was pleasantly surprised to cross the finish line at 45:15 (net time).  If I had seen I was running 9ish minute miles throughout the course, I would have slowed down.  No wonder I felt like I wanted to die!

After the race I had 1/2 a sausage, pasta and 4 free beers – what more could you want?  Oh, wait, how about a cheeseburger & fried fluffernutter for lunch?  Speaking of wanting to die, my stomach hated me for the rest of the day, but whatever!

Here we are enjoying beer #1!

Next up: My 50th Race!  The Urban Dare in Providence.

(And a PSA: Harpoon Summer comes in cans.  Try it, you’ll like it!)

One Response to “Race #5: The Harpoon 5 Miler in Boston”

  1. kylydia June 9, 2011 at 3:11 pm #

    I like the idea of free beer after a race. They don’t do that at any of the races we have in my town. Of course, all that Bible Belt goodness might be responsible for that.

    I also don’t think I’ve ever had a Harpoon. I wonder if I can get it around here.

Leave a Reply

