Shipping Out of Boston

4 Aug

I have six days of work at BAC in the big city, before I move down to suburbia, which is in the middle of nowhere, according to my work friends.  Since I’m an old married fart approaching my mid thirties, I guess that’s where I belong.  Working in Boston is something I’m glad I did, though.  It was fun while it lasted (and it was funner when it was a 25 minute commute rather than a 90 minute one), but its time to move on.

I started thinking about the things I would and wouldn’t miss about my commute and my sometimes crazy job.  (This isn’t about the people, they get their own post, much like TAC did).

What I won’t miss:

  • Train cliques – good Lord, its like high school lunch time all over again.  Saving seats, laughing loudly, flirting with the conductors.  If I really cared enough, I’m sure I could pick out all sorts of stereotypes: the geek, the cheerleader, the jock.  But I don’t care, and I’m truly not jealous.  Really.
  • Close sitters – I’m not very big.  You don’t need to be on my lap.  And, men, you know you need your ticket in your wallet, take it out before you sit on it and elbow me trying to get it.
  • Working too late and missing the train – this has resulted in spending way too long at the office, in South Station, one $120 cab ride, and one awkward & uncomfortable night sleeping in a conference room.  None were enjoyable.
  • The crazies in the train station parking lot – its like taking your life into your own hands every morning & every night.  People everywhere, cutting off cars, cars on the wrong side of the road.  When I take the 5:40 train home, I need to sit in my car for 10 minutes to work up the nerve to leave.
  • The elements – my best friend doesn’t like rain boots, and doesn’t see the need.  When you’re out in the rain (or cold, or snow) waiting for a train, and walking to and from a train, you buy whatever keeps you warm and dry.

What I’ll miss:

  • Train time – yes, it sucks to be in transit for three hours a day, but I’ve read more books in 3-1/2 years than you can imagine.  I’ve listened to more OAR than I care to admit.  And, for someone who doesn’t typically nap, I sure can nap well on the 6:44!
  • The characters – literally.  Just this week I saw Wally the Green Monster and Little Bo Peep at South Station.  (In all fairness, Little Bo Peep could have just been a weirdo.  And she may have been a man).
  • The city – I love Boston.  Don’t tell RI, but I love it more than Providence.  I love being able to try new restaurants during Restaurant Week.  I love running on Castle Island or on the Common with Michelle.  I love Morton’s bar bites and the disgustingness of the Barking Crab on a 90 degree day.  I know I’ll still go into town and do all of these things, but schlepping in on the train won’t be the same as popping over to LTK for a $40 2 hour lunch on a Friday.
  • The hot conductor eye candy – what?  I’m married, not dead.
Coming this week, hopefully between happy hours: the big goodbye to big city BAC.
One Response to “Shipping Out of Boston”

  1. mare August 4, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Congrats on the new job!

Leave a Reply

