Back in the Saddle Again

23 Oct

Ok, enough is enough with this eating what I want and not working out gravy train I’ve been on since last Christmas Eve, when I found out I was pregnant.  As much as I didn’t want it to, the positive pregnancy test immediately triggered my inner fat kid to say – “hey!  You can eat whatever you want now!  Go for it!  You’re just going to get fat anyways.”  I tried to shut her up, I really did.  It only lasted for a day or two though, then she was right back at it.  I even lamely attempted to exercise, but that didn’t last long either.

Before Emilia was born, I gave myself 4 weeks after I got home from the hospital to get into a groove and not worry about what I ate or if I exercised.  And I stuck with that.  Some days I was too tired to anything but scarf a muffin, and I allowed myself that.  Once she hit the month mark, I started paying more attention to what I was eating, tracking calories, and walking more.  I had my 6 week check up the other day, and asked if I could run and do ab stuff, and was told it was fine (I’m kind of oblivious to what a C section entails, I was afraid if I tried to do a sit up something might rip or hurt, but apparently I’m sewn up pretty well!)

So yesterday I dropped Emilia at my parents and went for a run (she has a snazzy BOB Revolution, but I think she’s too little for it).  It really sucked.  I’ve been on 30-50 minute strolls with the baby with no problems, but once I started running: ouch.  My body was immediately like – “dude.  what the hell are you doing?”  But I kept going, alternating running and walking, for two miles.  And I’m proud to say that I’m still alive and not in too much pain today.

I’m realizing that I can’t work out on a schedule right now, so I’m taking it day by day.  Today we’ll go for a walk, tomorrow I’m planning on doing 30 day Shred.  I’m trying to get Emilia on some sort of schedule for my sanity (I’m a planner, I can’t help it!) and once I get back to work I’ll be able to go to the gym there and not worry about what she’s doing, so that will help.

Its just about time for the Mews Gear n Beer 5K, so that’s my next race.  I don’t expect much from it in the way of time, but if I can get out there and finish with as little walking as possible, I’ll be thrilled.  And then I’ll drink free beer to my heart’s content.  Its a win-win!

One Response to “Back in the Saddle Again”

  1. Monica October 29, 2012 at 7:56 pm #

    you are so much better than me. I’m having this same conversation with my inner self right now and my kid is a year old. A YEAR. I have let myself go for that long. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

